Archbishop Chaput named and others named new members on synod council – Check them out

As established by Pope Paul VI in 1965 is the Synod Council members, whom are to serve as an advisory council to the Pontiff in a Synod meeting meant aimed at tackling developing challenging factors in the church and help in fostering a closer unity between the Roman Pontiff and bishops, to assist the Roman Pontiff with their counsel.

The synod as meant to take place every three years was handed over to the Council for the General Secretariat of the Synod of Bishops to ensure proper preparation towards the next Synod meeting.

Fifteen Synod Council members have been elected for the 2018 synod. Of the 15 members 12 are elected by the cardinals and bishops at the end of the Ordinary synod meeting and the remaining three were elected by the Pope himself.

Below are those elected by the Pope:

  1. Archbishop Louis Raphael Sako, Chaldean Patriarch of Babylon;
  2. Archbishop Carlos Osoro Sierra of Madrid and
  3. Archbishop Sergio Da Rocha Archbishop of Brazil and president of the Brazilian Episcopal Conference.

Below are those elected by the Cardinals and the Bishops:

4. Cardinal Robert Sarah, prefect of the Congregation for Divine Worship and the Discipline of the Sacraments

5. Cardinal Wilfrid Fox Napier

6. Archbishop of Durban

7.  Cardinal Marc Ouellet, Prefect of the Congregation of Bishops

8. Cardinal Oscar Andrés Rodriguez Maradiaga, Archbishop of Tegucigalpa

9.  Cardinal Christoph Shoenborn, Archbishop of Vienna

10. Cardinal Oswald Gracias, Archbishop of Bombay

11. Cardinal Luis Antonio Tagle, Archbishop of Manila

12. Cardinal George Pell, Prefect for the Secretariat of the Economy

13.  Cardinal Vincent Nichols, Archbishop of Westminster

14. Archbishop Mathieu Madega Lebouakehan of Mouila, Gabon

15.  Archbishop Bruno Forte of Chieti-Vasto.




1 comment

  1. Audrey Franklin Reply

    Chaput is small minded man…no leader. Very right wing. Denver sighed with relief when he left.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *