“Seven Dolors rosary” Explained

Full Question

Years ago my grandmother gave me a Seven Dolors rosary. Can you give me more information on this devotion?


The Seven Dolors are the Seven Sorrows of Mary. The Seven Sorrows are as follows:

  • The piercing of Mary’s heart predicted at Jesus’ presentation in the Temple
  • The flight into Egypt
  • Searching for the child Jesus in Jerusalem
  • Meeting Christ on the road to Calvary
  • Standing near the cross of Christ
  • Receiving the body of Christ from the cross
  • The burial of Christ

Information on how to pray the Rosary of the Seven Sorrows, also known as the Servite Rosary because of its promotion by the Order of the Servants of Mary, can be found on the Web site of the National Sanctuary of Our Sorrowful Mother in Portland, Oregon (www.thegrotto.org).



  1. Mary Isa garayua no Reply

    First time I hear about this rosary. Beautiful

  2. Dolores Reply

    My name is Dolores, does that have anything to do with the seven sorrows of Dolors??

  3. Lola Reply

    yes Dolores. My name is Dolores too. Lola is the nickname for Dolores.

  4. Valeriene Nilar Cochrane Reply

    Like Mary Isa this is also my very first time hearing about it. Grateful to know it.

Leave a Reply