When is Mother Teresa’s canonisation?




All you need to know about Mother Teresa’s canonisation at the Vatican in September

When is Mother Teresa’s canonisation?
The canonisation of Mother Teresa will take place on September 4 2016.

Where is Mother Teresa’s canonisation?
Pope Francis will declare Blessed Teresa of Calcutta a Saint in St Peter’s Square at the Vatican during the canonisation Mass. This will be preceded by events including a “family feast” for the poor, a musical about the life of Mother Teresa, Masses and prayer vigils.

What time does Mother Teresa’s canonisation start?

The Mass will start at 10.30am local time.

That’s 9.30am UK time.

US start times for the Mass are:

1.30am (PDT)
2.30am (MDT)
3.30am (CDT)
4.30am (EDT)

Full schedule of events:

— September 1: “Feast for the poor and Missionaries of Charity family,” including a musical based on Mother Teresa’s life.

— September 2: Masses in various languages in Rome’s Basilica of St Anastasia al Palatino and veneration of her relics. In the evening, a prayer vigil with solemn eucharistic adoration will be held at Rome’s Basilica of St John Lateran with Cardinal Agostino Vallini, the papal vicar of Rome, presiding.

— September 3: Catechesis by Pope Francis for the jubilee celebration of workers and volunteers for mercy. In the evening, a prayer and musical meditation will be held at Rome’s Basilica of St Andrea della Valle followed by veneration of Mother Teresa’s relics and Mass.

— September 4: Canonisation Mass – pilgrims will be able to venerate St Teresa’s relics in the evening at the Basilica of St John Lateran.

— September 5: Celebration of a Mass of thanksgiving and the first feast of St Teresa of Calcutta in St Peter’s Basilica with Cardinal Pietro Parolin, Vatican secretary of state, presiding. Pilgrims will be able to venerate the relics of St Teresa at St John Lateran in the evening.

— September 6: Continuing veneration of the relics of St Teresa at St John Lateran.

— September 7-8: Veneration of the relics of St Teresa of Calcutta at Rome’s Church of St Gregory the Great, along with the possibility of visiting her room at the convent of St Gregory.





wpsd_autopost:
1

2 comments

  1. Achi IfEOMA Theresa Reply

    St.Theresa,my name sake, The little flower, please pick me a rose from the heavenly garden and send it to me with a message of love ask God to grant me the favour I thee implore and tell Him I Will love Him each day more and more, Amen.

Leave a Reply