Did the Church add the Deuterocanonical books to the Bible at the Council of Trent?

By November 3, 2014 One Comment

Full Question

Is it true that at Trent the Church added the seven Deuterocanonical books (Judith, Tobit, 1 & 2 Maccabees, Wisdom, Baruch, and Ecclesiasticus) to the Bible ?


No. The Council of Trent (1545-1564) infallibly reiterated what the Church had long taught regarding the canons of the Old and New Testaments. Pope Damasus promulgated the Catholic canons at the Synod of Rome in A.D. 382, and later, at the regional councils of Hippo (393) and Carthage (397, 419), the Church again defined the same list of books as inspired.
The canons of the Old and New Testaments, as defined by Pope Damasus and the Councils of Hippo and Carthage, were later ratified (though the books were not enumerated individually) by the later Ecumenical councils of II Nicaea (787) and Florence (1438-1445). Although the Council of Trent, in response to the Protestant violation of the Bible by deleting the seven Deuterocanonical books plus portions of Daniel and Esther, was the first infallible conciliar listing of each individual book, it certainly did not add those books to the canon.
If that were the case, how could Martin Luther and the other Reformers have objected to the presence of those books decades before the Council of Trent if they weren’t in the canon to begin with and were added by the Council of Trent?

One Comment

  • John Smith says:

    As an individual trying to get it right as a Christian, read the English publications of these “so called” parts of Ester & Daniel…. If there are other parts of these two books not found they are really lost because what has been added is obviously not written in the same tongue or voice as the originals that are accepted.In fat these add ons looks &n sound as they were written in the 3rd Century. Long after uiocal had been discarded in written language became the way to write……

Leave a Reply Brethren !