Pope Francis names 17 new cardinals

Thirteen cardinals – including three Americans – are eligible to vote in a conclave

Pope Francis named 17 new cardinals Sunday from Asia, Africa, North and South America, Europe and Oceania.
Thirteen of them are under 80 and thus eligible to vote in any conclave to elect his successor. Here they are, in the order in which Francis announced them from the steps of St Peter’s Basilica.
They are:
— Archbishop Mario Zenari, Vatican ambassador to Syria.
— Archbishop Dieudonné Nzapalainga, of Bangui, Central African Republic.
— Archbishop Carlos Osoro Sierra of Madrid.
— Archbishop Sérgio da Rocha of Brasilia.
— Archbishop Blase Cupich of Chicago.
— Archbishop Patrick D’Rozario of Dhaka, Bangladesh.
— Archbishop Baltazar Enrique Porras Cardozo of Merida, Venezuela.
— Archbishop Jozef De Kesel of Malines-Brussels, Belgium.
— Archbishop Maurice Piat of Port Louis, Mauritius.
— Archbishop Kevin Joseph Farrell, outgoing archbishop of Dallas and new prefect of the Vatican dicastry for laity, family and life.
— Archbishop Carlos Aguiar Retes of Tlalnepantla, Mexico.
— Archbishop John Ribat of Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
— Archbishop Joseph Tobin of Indianapolis.
Cardinals named on Sunday by Pope Francis who are over 80 and thus ineligible to vote in a conclave:
— Archbishop Emeritus Anthony Soter Fernandez of Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.
— Archbishop Emeritus Renato Corti of Novara, Italy.
— Bishop Emeritus Sebastian Koto Khoarai of Mohale’s Hoek, Lesotho.
— Fr Ernest Simoni, presbyter of the archdiocese of Shkodrë-Pult, Albania.

Raphael Benedict

Raphael Benedict is a Catholic who wants nothing but to spread the catholic faith to reach the ends of the world. Make this possible by always sharing any article or prayers posted on your social media platforms. Remain blessed

Related Articles

Leave a Reply